Inside Out Western Omelets

So I am on a big roll of being creative in the kitchen.  I have a deep love for food and find that when I am making new recipes with delicious ingredients, I enjoy cooking!  Pinterest has been my best friend in helping me branch out with meal plans.  It also got my creative juices flowing. 

We eat breakfast for dinner once or twice a week.  Eggs are excellent sources of protein, cheap and yummy!  But to not get bored with this, I have to be creative in using eggs for dinner.  Believe me, I’d be happy having an omelet seven nights a week for dinner, but I don’t think the kids would agree. 

Stuffed pepper meet Western Omelet…Inside Out Western Omelet! 

Now remember, I am the recipe rebel and dislike measurements. 

Ingredients:

  • 6 Green Bell Peppers
  • Deli Ham
  • Eggs
  • Fresh Sliced Mushrooms
  • Diced Onions
  • Olive Oil
  • Roasted Red Tomatoes or Sundried Tomatoes
  • Provolone Cheese
  • Salsa

Directions:

  • Rinse peppers.  Cut in halves, remove seeds and stems.  Microwave 6 halves at a time for ten minutes.  As the peppers are microwaving scramble up 6-8 eggs.  In a separate pan saute fresh mushrooms and diced onions in olive oil.  Take glass casserole dish and pour just enough salsa in bottom of dish to cover the bottom.  Place microwaved peppers in dish, open side up.  Take 1/2 a slice of deli ham (or could use leftover ham from another dinner) and place in bottom of pepper.  Use scrambled eggs for next layer, evenly distributing the eggs to each pepper.  Then stuff peppers with toppings of choice (mushrooms, tomatoes, onions) according to individual preferences.  Add a tablespoon full of salsa to each pepper.

IMG_20130408_180503

  •   Preheat oven to 400 degrees and bake for 20-25 minutes.  Remove pan and place 1/2 a slice of provolone cheese over each pepper.  Place pan back in oven for 5 more minutes or until cheese is thoroughly melted.  Serve with fresh diced fruit. 

IMG_20130408_183054

Our normally picky five year old gobbled this up so fast, it dropped all of our jaws.  Family voted and this is definitely a repeat recipe! 

Leave me some love....

