A Year in Pics: Day 8

I keep a running list of improvements I want to make around our house.  We live in an old farmhouse from the 1800’s.  Until this past summer I had been seriously considering buying a new home and turning our home into a rental.  And then I found Pinterest.  Helllo lover!  I have made MAJOR changes in our home for minor costs!  The clearance paint rack and I are on first name basis.  Amazing how many people have colors mixed up and then decide they don’t like it!  I was getting gallons of paint for $5.00.  I am quite happy with the changes and have decided that until my student loans are paid off, we are staying in our old farmhouse. 

One big issue I had was our habit of coming in and taking off our coats and hanging them on the kitchen chairs.  I wanted hooks to hang our coats on by the door.  We have a mudroom but it is unheated and who wants to slip on a freezing cold jacket before they step outside into a NNY frigid winter? 

Enter 25% off entire purchase coupon for JoAnn Fabrics.  With a bridal shower approaching, my Mom and I of course were both going to take advantage of that coupon…we are frugal and creative!  While browsing the clearance aisle, I noticed their wall hooks were 50% off.  Originally $5.99, the 50% off took them down to right around $3.00 each.  I then used my 25% off coupon on top of the sale price to end up paying $2.25 per hook.  Score! 

Here is the end result (there are four hooks, my jacket covers the bottom one on left) which I am thrilled with!  (I also did the “faux” finish paint job on the walls this summer). 

100_1042

Isn’t it so funny how the smallest additions to your home can make you so happy?!

Leave me some love....

