Financially fit

I am a firm believer that you will never find a good balance in life if your mind is in a state of chaos.  You must de-stress and find peace within before you organize and find balance in your surroundings.  Fitness is not just about physical wellness, but also about mental, financial, social and environmental wellness.  Once all areas are balanced, it becomes about maintaining the balance.

To achieve the physical wellness, I have paid for many gym memberships.  I found physical wellness when I dedicated 10-15 hours a week in the gym.  Yet it set off the balance in my family environment as it subtracted 15-18 hours from my family with travel time.  It also affected my financial wellness as gym memberships are not cheap. 

This is the worst time of year to invest in a gym membership.  Everyone is caught up in New Year’s Resolutions and swear they are going to lose the baby pounds this year, even though the baby is now twelve years old.  After many years of being in the gym, you see a huge increase in the crowds the month of January and the first two weeks of February and after that the crowd slowly thins out until it’s back to the normal gym rats.  I truly recommend starting out at home, making sure you dedicate yourself to working out regularly and if down the road you want to upgrade and invest into a gym membership, then great. 

For me, the best solution was to build up my home gym.  This allows me to work out on a schedule best for me and not around gym hours.  I don’t have to travel or worry about a sitter.  Best of all, any money invested benefits me and only me.  For me personally, I find that paying for a gym membership doesn’t actually motivate me to use it any more.  In fact, I find more reasons to not work out if I have to travel to the gym.  The weather is bad.  I don’t want to spend more on gas money.  My child isn’t feeling well.  The gym isn’t open at 7pm on Sunday. 

Truth be told, you don’t need a lot of space to get a good workout in your home.  You don’t have to invest thousands of dollars into equipment.  You can slowly build up the materials you have at home.  You can start up with what you have at home or for around $25.00.  I would recommend not running out and buying any exercise equipment until you have decided that you are committed to working on physical wellness.   

I had a second “living room” area that I have made into the office/gym room.  I have a Proform treadmill that my husband bought me for my birthday 6-7 years ago that I LOVE.  I have a weight bench that we purchased second hand for $10.00.  I have hand weights, resistance bands, mats, a body bar, a medicine ball and a balance ball.  In the nicer weather, I have miles and miles of roads that I can run.  I also own an entire library of workout videos.  Kickboxing, p90x, Zumba, Yoga, Pilates. 

I do not skimp when it comes to buying good sneakers.  I am a HUGE fan of Saucony.  You can find deals on them, but they typically run around $90.00 for the kind I buy. 

If you are willing to invest around $25.00 to start a home gym here are some hot deals on getting started…just click on the picture to order these items!

ZoN Medium Resistance Tube (Pink)Resistance Tube- $8.21

Bob Harper: Cardio ConditioningCardio DVD- $4.99

 

Cap Barbell Neoprene DumbbellHand Weights- $4.00 each…order two for a total of $8.00

US Games Segmented Skip Rope (Black/White, 6-Foot)Jump Rope $ 4.83

With all these items, the cost out of pocket is $ 26.03 before taxes.  That is less than one month of a gym membership at most gyms!   If you used just these supplies for a year it would be less than $2.17 per month!  All while never leaving your home.  Get up at 5am and work out or stay up until 10pm and work out.  A blizzard is no longer going to stop you from getting your sweat on!  Burn some calories during your children’s nap time!  No more excuses!!  Next post will be exercises you can do with items you have at home until your shipment comes in!  Getting fit on a budget…LOVE IT!

Technorati Tags: ,,
Leave me some love....

